The Popular Arts and Traditions group Les Biroussans was born in 1921 in the Biros valley in Castillonnais.

The artistic and scenic experience of the Biroussans allows them to promote Couserannaise culture in a unique way. The enthusiasm and energy of the dancers and musicians reflect the joy of life and generosity. Choreographed shows and traditional balls amaze all audiences and reconcile them with traditional dances. The group is a major player in the safeguard, promotion and dissemination of traditional Couserannaise and Gascon culture.

He assumes his role of representative or ambassador at home and abroad.

Composed today of about sixty dancers, singers and musicians of all ages, in two formations, adults and children (the Massipous), the group highlights a complete range of traditions through its dances, its music, its songs. , its costumes and its know-how.

The values ​​of conviviality, sharing and solidarity allow meeting with other partners. It is therefore on its territory that it organizes two highlights each year: La Sent Joan Beth e Gran and La Nuit du Trad '. La Sent Joan (June 23) is the celebration of the rise of the herds in summer with the rituals related to fertility and the celebration of light. The Nuit du Trad '(early November) allows for a modern expression of popular culture, and is one of the essential trad dance platforms in the Occitanie region. 

In markets, demonstrations or local events, in other provinces or outside our borders, the Biroussans work for transmission throughout the year. 

Location

Couserans Pyrenees

On the western part of Ariège, the Couserans and its 18 valleys is a vast territory divided between high mountains, mountains and [...]

Discover

Activities

Cultural activities

  • Performing Arts
  • Singing and choir
  • Dance

Le groupe d'Arts et Traditions Populaires Les Biroussans, est né en 1921 dans la vallée du Biros dans le Castillonnais.

L'expérience artistique et scénique des Biroussans leur permet de promouvoir d'une manière unique la culture couserannaise. L'enthousiasme et l'énergie des danseurs et musiciens reflètent la joie de vivre et la générosité. Les spectacles chorégraphiés, les bals traditionnels émerveillent tous les publics et les réconcilient avec les danses traditionnelles. Le groupe est un acteur majeur de la sauvegarde, de la promotion et de la diffusion de la culture traditionnelle couserannaise et gasconne.

Il assume son rôle de représentant ou d'ambassadeur chez lui, comme à l'extérieur.

Composé aujourd'hui d'une soixantaine de danseurs, chanteurs et musiciens de tous âges, en deux formations, adultes et enfants (les Massipous), le groupe met en lumière un éventail complet de traditions à travers ses danses, ses musiques, ses chants, ses costumes et ses savoir-faire.

Les valeurs de convivialité, partage et solidarité permettent la rencontre avec d'autres partenaires. C'est donc sur son territoire qu'il organise chaque année deux temps forts : La Sent Joan Beth e Gran et La Nuit du Trad'. La Sent Joan (23 juin) est la célébration de la montée des troupeaux en estive avec les rituels liés à la fertilité et la célébration de la lumière. La Nuit du Trad' (début novembre) quant à elle permet une expression moderne de la culture populaire, et constitue un des plateaux incontournables de danse trad de la région Occitanie. 

Sur les marchés, les manifestations ou événements locaux, dans d'autres provinces ou hors de nos frontières les Biroussans oeuvrent pour la transmission tout au long de l'année. 

Localisation

Couserans Pyrénées

Sur la partie Ouest de l’Ariège, le Couserans et ses 18 vallées est un vaste territoire partagé entre haute montagne, montagne et [...]

Découvrir

Activités

Activités culturelles

  • Arts du spectacle
  • Chant et chorale
  • Danse