In 1160, Pierre de Dun was its lord. It was not until 1390 that it became the possession of the Lords of Lévis. By the Treaty of Paris, in 1299, Roger Bernard de Lévis collected the lands of the Olmes country belonging to the counts of Foix.
It is reached by a pleasant little hike starting from the church of Carol. Follow the arrows and the yellow markup. Allow 1h30 round trip. In the village follow the signs indicating the castle. The path leads first to the church located high up away from the village. Go around the cemetery which adjoins it on the right to take the path. During the small climb through the woods, we notice the layout of old terraces and large stone walls supporting the path. Arrived on the ridge we discover the remains of the castle of Teyrac also called Castella de Roquefort.
Beautiful view overlooking Roquefort-les-Cascades and its valley.
Continue on this path which leads to the pylon. You get there by walking along the cliffs frequented by climbing schools. From the pylon we discover Castella de Roquefort on the other side of Plantaurel and a beautiful panoramic view of the Pays d'Olmes.
Prices / Opening
|From January 01 to December 31, 2024