Come visit the tower with his step in the void

At the heritage house attached to the Château d'Usson, over 700m², you will find a reconstructed traditional mountain habitat, archaeological objects from the excavations of the castle still in progress testifying to us of a seigneurial life from the 13th to the 18th Century as well as the Lady of Usson. For groups, open all year on request and from 8 people. The castle of Usson is the oldest of the two fortresses of Donezan. It is likely that its creation dates back to the end of the 10th century. it is a millennial site which controlled the Aude valley and protected the country of Donezan from any incursion. Occupied without interruption until 1794, it was in turn the property and the stake of several families, in particular the former lords of So and Allion, and still clearly bears the traces of this long occupation. The 1789 revolution will sound the death knell for the castle, which will be dismantled stone by stone and will serve as a quarry for the inhabitants of the nearest villages. It was not until 1990 that this legendary site witnessed the first actions intended to save it from total ruin. Today, the lower enclosure houses the Maison du Patrimoine where 700m2 of exhibition, bring together the history of the castle and more generally of Donezan.Usson, it is also contemporary exhibitions, animations and shows, guided tours and access to the very top of the tower for a panoramic view of the mountains and the Aude valley.

Location

Ariège Pyrenees

South of Ariège, on the border with Andorra, are the Ariège Pyrenees. Between mountainous landscapes and activities, there are many [...]

Discover

Activities

  • Groups welcome up to 54 people